Kumbaya Jambalaya

Are you sitting down? If you’re a mom, I know you’re not sitting down..unless you’re in the bathroom for a few minutes of privacy, and maybe you’ll spend extra time in there so you can quickly catch up on life on the outside. Or, if you’re a mom you might be hiding in the laundry room eating some chocolate from the now opened Halloween bags. Not that I have experience with either of these scenarios.

.

Whatever you’re doing, I know you will be SHOCKED to see I am posting again! I have been INSANELY busy over the past few months starting and GROWING my Beautycounter business, working my other job, trying to be a wife and trying to keep children in somewhat clean clothes (I didn’t say wrinkle free) and fed. Check out this pic of me at a vendor event!

beautycountermolly

beautycountermolly

We’ve also been at the beach nearly every weekend, until this weekend where it is finally too “chilly” to be in the water. But a lot of our meals have been munchy food either at the beach or a picnic at home.

Johnson's Beach

Pensacola Beach

With all those things I’ve had ZERO time for hobbies, including this blog. Plus, I haven’t made time to do any real meal planning in months so that means our dinners have been a series of broken records – grilled chicken, tacos, quesadillas, nachos, chicken and pasta – rinse and repeat. A few times I’ve snapped a photo of a clever dinner for Instagram, which I am totally obsessed with (follow me @beautycountermolly), but that’s about it. Tonight, the kids are in bed, husband is out with work buddies, I’m at a good spot with Beautycounter, and we had a yummy dinner that I’d like to share!


Last night I made time for proper meal planning, and for this week not a single quesadilla! Although one night we will have bbq chicken sandwiches and nachos, but yeah, quesadillas are on sabbatical for now. I was trying to figure out an exciting way to cook the 2 cups of shredded, frozen chicken and jambalaya popped into my head. I planned to go food shopping in the morning (I do every Saturday or Sunday morning) and I decided to pick up the items for jambalaya, and get the shrimp at our fish market later in the day. My family has a joke about jambalaya. My grandfather used to get jambalaya and kumbaya mixed up. I think the story goes, he was talking about a baptism at church where the priest dipped the naked baby into the baptismal pool, and raised him up for everyone to sing jambalaya! (kumbaya) We all know his story was embellished, but it lives in our memories.

I did a quick search for jambalaya and my favorite blog popped up, Gimme Some Oven! Several of her recipes are on rotation in our house, especially the enchilada sauce.

My mods

-I used brown rice, which takes FOREVERRRRR to cook. Like, an hour people.

-I used my own homemade chicken stock. Yay!

-Andouille sausage = Aidell’s cajun sausage, precooked, nitrate free

-I bought headless, deveined shrimp from the local fish market and threw in the pot with tails ON

-I used petite diced tomatoes so we didn’t have chunks of tomatoes (thereby increasing the chances the kids would eat a taste).

The Result

Success! It’s by no means the kids’ favorite, but I didn’t hear any obnoxious comments. I served with fresh mango slices and french bread with fresh rosemary olive oil dipping sauce. And, there’s enough for tomorrow – win! AND it was a super cheap way to stretch only a pound of shrimp and maybe a cup of chicken!

HealthyKitchenHealthyBudget Jambalaya

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

