Cranberry Applesauce

Cranberries and pumpkins are my favorite foods. I could eat them alllll year long, and in the fall I always make sure to stock up on both so I can at least eat them into the spring. I guess you can get pumpkin year round, but when cranberries appear at the grocery store I get really excited. This year I bought 12 bags of frozen cranberries from Azure Standard. I always start off the fall season full of inspiration and resolve to try new recipes. Then, life happens and before I know it my stock has run out and all I did was make the same dishes I made last year.

But, there is a reason I always fall back on those dishes – they are delicious! I make three cranberry recipes each year: my mom’s pear cranberry sauce, my mom’s apple cranberry oatmeal crumble, and my mom’s cranberry applesauce. See a pattern? I make these dishes year after year because they remind me of home, and my family!

This week is Thanksgiving and I decided to make cranberry applesauce because it’s delicious, I’m fairly certain the kids will eat it, the recipe is super easy, and you can make the applesauce ahead and freeze!

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget cranberry applesauce1

If my blog was fancy dancy I could create a handy dandy printable of the recipe. Until I find time to upgrade my blog, a list will have to do:


-3 lb macintosh apples

-12oz cranberries – my bags were 10 oz so I added a few extra from another bag

-1 cup of brown sugar (I made my own, did you know you can do that?!) You can reduce the sugar if you like a more tart applesauce

-1 cup of water

-3 strips of lemon peel

-1 cinnamon stick

THAT’S IT!

  1. Quarter the apples, but no peeling, coring or anything. THROW IT ALL IN THE POT!
  2. Stir
  3. Bring the mixture to a boil, then turn down to simmer – I keep the lid propped open
  4.  Stir a few times so everything cooks evenly. Cook until the apples are soft.
    1. I can neither confirm nor deny that this time I forgot that simmer part and allowed the mixture to boil the entire time. 

Now the applesauce making part. I use a food mill to mash everything together because it makes the sauce really smooth, and it’s the tool my mom always used. In fact, she bought my food mill for me probably right after I was married knowing I would need it for applesauce.

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget cranberry applesauce2

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget cranberry applesauce5

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget cranberry applesauce3

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget cranberry applesauce6


Just look at that beautiful red color. Add some cinnamon into the sauce at the end. What could be easier? I suppose going opening a jar of store bought is easier, but this is way better. Then, get that applesauce in your belly! Or, refrigerate/freeze ’til later. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

