Crockpot Rosemary Bread

In my weekly planning post I talked about the massive rosemary bush my husband discovered in our backyard. Just so happens I LOVE rosemary and I have been combing Pinterest for rosemary recipes.

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Rosemary bush

Can you believe that is rosemary? I came across a recipe from Host the Toast for rosemary bread cooked in a crockpot. Sounded too good to be true. Fresh bread with no need to heat up the kitchen? One problem: baking with yeast has never been my strong point. I love to bake anything else, I’ve even made a wedding cake, but I can’t remember ever being successful with yeast. Ever. During my weekly shopping trip I hesitated in the baking aisle, my eyes sloooowly climbed up to the top shelf where the yeast is sold. I started to walk away, then I thought oh why not and I grabbed 3 packs of yeast.

Mods

I am so glad I gave yeast another chance. 100 degrees sticks in my mind as the optimal temperature for dissolving yeast for bread making; not too hot to kill the yeast and not to cold. I measured my water with a thermometer. Although I usually don’t bake with AP flour, I had a bag of it in the pantry, probably from making play dough. I did sub a half cup of AP for WWW. I also didn’t use all 3 1/2 cups of flour. I added the flour a little at a time and I stopped when it was difficult to mix more flour in. I think I left out about a half cup. I pushed the bread down in the pot so it spread out to the edge and that way the rosemary/salt mixture easily sat on top of the bread. I definitely added more rosemary in the bread and on top. Did I mention I like rosemary? Besides those small things I followed the recipe exactly, even broiling the finished bread for a few minutes in the oven (very glad I did).

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Rosemary

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Crockpot Rosemary Bread
Uncooked bread

The Results

The bread smelled SO good I couldn’t wait for it to cool before slicing into the loaf. I made an herb olive oil mixture but I didn’t look at the recipe. I just mixed olive oil, coarse salt, rosemary, basil and dried oregano in a small dish. This made the bread EXTRA delish. The kids haven’t been too enthused about the bread and I’m not bothered – more for me! For lunch, slice some pieces, toast and shmear on some butter….mmmm, super delish.

Besides being yummy, this recipe is so easy. Really. I put the toddler down for his nap, turned on Dr. Quinn re-runs, mixed everything in 10 minutes and let it sit for an hour. Then you pat it down (no kneading), stick it in the crockpot for 2 hours on high, broil, and you’re done!

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Crockpot Rosemary Bread2

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Crockpot Rosemary Bread4

If you’re not a yeast person, I encourage you to try this recipe. You might surprise yourself!

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Rosemary Bread

Leave a Reply

