Easy Tomato-Basil Sauce

Our tomato plants have been growing like crazy! I have small cherry and big heirloom tomatoes this year. This weekend I found myself with a pile of tomatoes in my fridge and two of them were looking a little mushy. I thought chicken parm sounded pretty good for the Fourth of July, even though that is not a typical dish to cook when it’s a million degrees outside. It’s also not a dish I can make on a weekday, but lazy Saturday afternoons are perfect.

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Tomatoes

I almost never make spaghetti sauce, but I found this recipe from Sugar Dish Me and it looked pretty simple. While my husband put our toddler down for his nap, the pre-schooler helped me in the kitchen. I had already seeded and coarsely chopped the tomatoes, and I only had two cups so I halved the recipe. I didn’t have white wine in the house, so I used homemade chicken stock inspired by 100 Days of Real Food. And, fresh basil from the garden!

I breaded and pan seared 2# of Greenwise chicken (that I butterflied/thinly sliced because the thin cutlets were not on sale) and stuck those in the fridge. Closer to dinnertime I put a few cutlets in a small dish in our toaster oven (so I wouldn’t heat up the kitchen), spread the sauce on top and sprinkled some mozzarella cheese.

The verdict: easy and delish! And it really didn’t take a lot of time to make.

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Tomato Sauce

One thought on “Easy Tomato-Basil Sauce

  1. Pingback: Back to Meal Planning 7.19-7.25 | Healthy Kitchen, Healthy Budget

Leave a Reply

