Blueberry Mini Muffins (with honey)

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Blueberry Muffins1

I’ve been on a honey kick ever since my husband brought home a container of homemade honey courtesy of a co-worker. First I made two batches of the honey banana bread which was well received around here. I started contemplating how I can substitute honey for cane sugar in some of our favorite recipes. I found a blog post from Whole New Mom with some directions on how to successfully substitute sugar. I was ready to do some math and modify our favorite blueberry muffin recipe from All Recipes, but then I decided to google “honey blueberry muffins” and sure enough, there were plenty of recipes in the blogosphere.

I looked through the posts and decided the first hit from New Life on a Homestead sounded good and easy.

My Mods

  • Used white whole wheat four
  • Used melted refined coconut oil, 1:1 substitution
  • Frozen blueberries

Sometimes my oldest turns his nose up at regular size muffins, but enjoys mini muffins (who doesn’t?) so I made 24 mini muffins instead of 12 large. I also mixed up the sugar topping from the All Recipes muffins to add a little crunch on top. I only sprinkled a little on each and I saved the rest in the fridge. And, since it was a million degrees outside and I didn’t want to heat up the kitchen, I cooked the muffins in our toaster oven! 10 minutes at 400. 

Result

DELICIOUS. Really people, these are our favorite now. I couldn’t stop eating them. Both kids love them, husband loves them, I love them. They are great for breakfast (my oldest ate two this morning, along with an egg, blueberries, and half a banana), lunch, snacks, anytime! Next time I will do half whole wheat white, and half organic whole wheat pastry and see if they fluff more (don’t get me wrong, they are fluffy as-is, but you can never have to much fluff in your “fuffins!”)

Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Blueberry Muffins2 Healthy Kitchen Healthy Budget Blueberry Muffins5

One thought on “Blueberry Mini Muffins (with honey)

Leave a Reply

