Slow Cooker Black Beans

crockpot black beans3

My husband introduced beans and rice to me on my first trip to Miami in 2001. Pollo Tropical was probably the first place I ate them and I was in love. Of course there are a million ways to prepare black beans and rice, but the greatest recipes start with dried beans, not the canned. Hey, I’m not knocking canned. I have four in my pantry right now because 99% of the time I use canned because I haven’t mastered cooking from dried yet, and I frequently decide at the last minute to cook beans with dinner. 

A few months ago when I was still in my organic co-op (I dropped out due to convenience and time issues), I bought a pound of dried beans. They sat in my pantry until a few days ago when I decided it was time to try cooking beans from scratch again. Last week we had a honeybaked ham because we had family in town (fantastic thing to have around when you have a full house), so I looked up “black beans, ham bone” on Google. I found this recipe from The Kitchn for black bean soup and some of the commenters said they prepared the recipe in a slow cooker. Music to my ears! Here are my modifications:

  • I started with a sofrito – I diced onion and garlic and sauteed in a skillet and added to the beans in the crockpot
  • I put the entire ham bone in the crockpot, cranked up to high and cooked on high for 5 hours
  • Before I left to pickup the kids, I took out the bone and all the ham pieces. I chopped up any big pieces of ham left on the bone and threw everything else away (like my crockpot chickens, I was a little freaked out by the bones)
  • I put the ham back in and turned down to warm so the beans wouldn’t’ get mushy.
  • Oregano and other spices would have been good, if I’d remembered. Maybe next time.
  • I didn’t add any salt – the ham was salty enough

The result? The beans had a delicious smoky flavor and were very tender! I thought they were extremely good, and I thought this was a much better use for a ham bone than ham bone soup. Chicken stock instead of water would probably taste good too, but I didn’t have any thawed. I stopped the cooking when the beans were still watery, NOT thick like the recipe says (and thus becomes a soup). If you want soup the beans will have to cook longer (if using the crockpot method). We used a slotted spoon to scoop out the beans and eat as a side. I’m especially happy that I [may] have found a good way to cook beans that is more economical than buying cans! And, when paired with special fried cheese from Miami, all is right in our world.

crockpot black beans2

Leave a Reply

