New Chicken Enchiladas

Earlier this week I cooked cilantro chicken in the crockpot. We had two dinners of chicken over yellow rice, and on the third day I decided to try something new. I thought the shredded chicken would make good enchilada filling, so I looked up enchilada sauces while I was sitting in the tot’s room one night. I found one from Gimme Some Oven, and given how much we love her chicken alfredo recipe, it was a no brainer to try to her enchilada sauce too.

I used homemade stock and whipped up the sauce in 15 minutes, while I was warming up a half eaten egg and reheating my coffee before starting work. The only change I made was making my roux with butter, I can’t seem to make olive oil work. I didn’t take a picture of the finished product because it wasn’t very photogenic, Gimme Some Oven has much better photos. But it was DELICIOUS and SO simple. I especially loved that it uses ingredients I always have in the pantry, or freezer. I added the full 4T of chili powder and that made it pretty spicy, but surprisingly BOTH kids ate the enchiladas, spice and all. The tot asked for “che-chup” (ketchup) with his. Hmmm, uh ok, I’m not here to judge kid, just want you to eat some dinner.

The next time I make chicken stock I’m going to make a few batches of this sauce and freeze so I have it ready to go.

enchilada saucechicken enchilada

Oh. Definitely a keeper. Try it. You will love it!

3 thoughts on “New Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: One Crockpot, 4+ Dinners | Healthy Kitchen, Healthy Budget

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan 5.17 – 5.22 | Healthy Kitchen, Healthy Budget

  3. Pingback: Meal Plan 8.16 – 8.22 (new and improved) | Healthy Kitchen, Healthy Budget

Leave a Reply

