Steak with Mojo Marinade

I was first introduced to mojo (pronounced mo-ho, this isn’t Austin Powers) sauce/marinade years ago when my husband bought a bottle of Badia Mojo at a grocery store in Miami. I also remember coming home with a bottle of sour orange juice. For a few weeks I have been trying to figure out what to do with a small package of Greenwise sirloins in our freezer, and a few nights ago I decided steak kabobs marinated in mojo sauce served with plantains and chimichurri sounded fantastic. Although I could have easily bought mojo sauce at our Publix, I looked up some recipes and realized how easy it is to make at home.

I found a lot of recipes and they all had a few things in common – sour orange juice (or lime juice added to orange juice), garlic, onion, olive oil, salt, pepper. Here is the recipe I came up with:

  • Juice of 2 limes
  • Juice of 1 orange (I only had 1, so I added some regular OJ too)
  • Olive oil (light) maybe 1/3 cup
  • A few heaping teaspoons of minced garlic
  • Handful of cilantro, chopped
  • Yellow onion, coarsely chopped
  • Couple good shakes of coarse salt
  • My pepper shaker is MIA, so left that out

I mixed up the marinade overnight and in the morning I poured it over about 2 pounds of cubed sirloin steak in a glass dish. I let it hang out in the fridge for about 5-6 hours.

Steak and Mojo

I threaded some of the cubes on skewers, but I only have 4 so I put the rest of the cubes on my fish grill pan.

Steak and Mojo

I strained the marinade and boiled the liquid for a few minutes so I could use it as a basting sauce. A better idea would have been to save some before adding the steak so I could have skipped that step. I also shouldn’t have walked away from the stove while the sauce was boiling, then maybe it wouldn’t have boiled over. Ahhhhh. Anyway, I still had plenty of sauce left to baste the steaks as they cooked. Some peppers would have been nice too.

While the steaks cooked, i fried some plantains in coconut oil. I fried plantains in coconut oil for the first time last week and I was very happy with the result. I use refined so it doesn’t have the coconut flavor. If you want to fry,  make sure you get black plantains so they are sweet and soft!

Plaintains

I also whipped up some chimichurri, but I have decided I like curly parsley better than flat leaf for chimichurri. Look at that vibrant green color!

Steak and mojo and plantains

Thumbs up all around. The toddler was eating a ton of the plain steak, but when I cut some up with chimichurri I couldn’t feed him fast enough. The preschooler needed more cajoling, as usual, but there wasn’t any complaining.

This is definitely a weekend meal as grilling is impossible without my husband home to watch the kids, but I will definitely make this marinade more often!

Happy, healthy eating.

2 thoughts on “Steak with Mojo Marinade

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan 4.19 – 4.24 | Healthy Kitchen, Healthy Budget

  2. Pingback: Meal Planning 4.25 – 5.2 | Healthy Kitchen, Healthy Budget

Leave a Reply

