Semi Make-Ahead Pork Stir Fry

A few weeks ago I proclaimed our love of pork dishes. Although I usually buy roasts, sometimes I buy pork chops if they are on sale. I love me some pan seared pork chops, but those are tough to cook on a weeknight, especially now that I like to enjoy a little outside time with the kids after we get home from school. Pork chops are on sale at Publix this week, so I bought a 1.5lb package.

I used to record a show called Kelsey’s Essentials on the Cooking Channel. We downgraded our TV programming lineup so we don’t get that channel anymore, but fortunately her recipes are available online. In her Pork Four Ways episode, she starts by roasting a pork roast in a peach bbq sauce and uses that pork in four different dishes. Nice! I make her 5-Spice Pork Stir Fry every now and then sometimes using a pork roast and sometimes using pork chops. I have made the peach bbq sauce, but usually I don’t take the time.

I keep the pork very simple. If I am using a pork roast, then I rub some spices on the pork before roasting (usually in my toaster oven so I don’t heat up the kitchen). Ay, there’s the rub.

If I am using pork chops, like I did over the weekend, I simply sprinkle with salt/pepper, dip in egg wash and bread in homemade bread crumbs from the freezer. Then I pan sear and finish off in the oven (or toaster oven). I forget about them overnight I let them cool overnight, slice and freeze.

I will keep them in the freezer for a week or two and probably make the stir fry on the weekend with some fried rice. Yum!

Happy eating.

One thought on “Semi Make-Ahead Pork Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan 4.03 – 4.11 | Healthy Kitchen, Healthy Budget

Leave a Reply

