Asian Chicken Meatballs

Tonight we tried a new recipe courtesy of Skinny Ms. – Spicy Asian Chicken Meatballs, although ours weren’t spicy because I left out the red pepper flakes.

I ground the Greenwise chicken breast (bought on sale at $5.49#) last night using my meat grinder attachment on my Kitchen Aid mixer. If you don’t have a grinder, either powered or hand, I highly recommend getting one. Some grocery store butchers will grind meat for you, but I have shopped at grocery stores where they didn’t. Before you grind up any meat you want it to be very cold, so I cut the chicken into strips and put in the freezer for about 20 minutes. Grinding chicken is fast business, grinding meat with marbling like pork and beef (especially cheap cuts) is kind of a pain because the fat gets caught in the blade. Still, I think having fresh ground meat is best.

I cooked the meatballs last night, let them cool and put in the fridge overnight. I also mixed up the sauce a few hours ahead of time. The recipe says 18 meatballs, and I forgot to count but I think it was closer to 15 (guess I make bigger ones). I knew we would need a filling side, so I cooked some rice this morning to use in fried rice. Sometimes I scramble eggs to mix into the rice to add protein.

We went to visit some friends this afternoon and got back home around 5:30p. I quickly sauteed the meatballs in the sauce and mixed the rice with sesame oil, freshly grated ginger and soy sauce. By 5:45 we were all sitting down eating. I think the tot exclaimed “Oh my gosh, it’s yummy!” or maybe it was my imagination. With the rice, pears and salad, it was enough for four of us, and one extra for the toddler’s lunch tomorrow. A lean dinner that can be partially cooked the day ahead, and prepared in 10-15 minutes the day of? Keeper.

Asian chicken meatballs

Leave a Reply

