Delicious Fig Bars

This recipe for fig bars is another Cooking Light great, and it was introduced to me by a co-worker back in 2005 . I remember eating them in our office and couldn’t believe how much they tasted like Fig Newtons. They quickly became a favorite of my husband’s when we were first married, but I could only buy the figs at one grocery store in town and it wasn’t the place I usually did my shopping. Same thing with the next place we lived; they were only available in a store on the other side of town (really inconvenient in a town 10 minutes from end to end). Despite the inconvenience, I used to make them all the time, and I would double the recipe when a certain friend came to visit because he was such a fan.

Fortunately, Publix has dried figs, so no driving around required, and this week they were 2 for $5! Here are my changes:

  • You definitely need a pan smaller than 9×13. Mine is probably 8×10. It’s on the small side, but I like a smaller pan so the filling isn’t spread too thin.
  • I only use about 3/4 of the crust mixture. I save the rest in the fridge and then next time I halve the crust recipe and add to the remainder.
  • Beat the cream cheese before adding the egg and sugar, otherwise you will have a sloppy mess with lumps. A step I forgot this time…
  • The recipe calls for 6oz of cream cheese (2oz short of a whole block), and 2 cups of figs. This time I used the entire 8oz block, and two bags of figs. No measuring, and no leftover figs or small blobs of cream cheese in the fridge.
  • Dried figs are sweet, so I wonder if boiling them in sugar water is necessary. Next time I will omit the sugar and see how it tastes.
  • I used whole wheat white flour as a cup for cup replacement for the AP flour. Cane sugar for granulated.
  • These need to sit overnight. They are much better the next day, cold. Try to refrain from snacking. It will be hard.

They are addictive! You have been warned. 🙂 Enjoy.

Fig bars

One thought on “Delicious Fig Bars

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning 2.16 – 2.22 | Good Lookin' Home Cookin'

Leave a Reply

