Best Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffins

Or, as my tot used to say, “boobooey fuffins.” I have been tweaking a muffin recipe I found on AllRecipes for the past few weeks and I think I have a good recipe now. No, a great recipe.

The original recipe is called To Die For Blueberry Muffins and the first time I made them I followed the recipe (except I substituted coconut oil as I always do). And, yes, that recipe is to die for. It was sweet, the topping was crunchy, and the muffins tasted like they came from a bakery. But, the muffins weren’t exactly healthy and I wanted to experiment with reducing the sugar. Here are the new ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c organic whole wheat white flour
  • 1/2 c cane sugar (I have used the granulated evaporated cane juice as well as coarser Demerara sugar from Florida Crystals)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 c refined coconut oil
  • 1 organic egg
  • 1/3 c organic milk (I use 1%)
  • 1 c of frozen organic blueberries, unthawed
  • For the topping: 1/4 flour, 1/4 c sugar, cut in 2 T butter. I split this recipe between two batches of muffins, so each just gets a little sprinkle

I follow the cooking steps exactly. After I add the frozen blueberries, the mix gets very cold and starts to solidify. Be not afraid, this is the coconut oil returning to a solid state. Do your best to split the batter between 12 muffin cups, it will be lumpy and cold but everything will melt and bake in the oven. I have even mixed in some squash puree and no one noticed. 🙂

Blueberry Muffins

I calculated each muffin has 10g sugar. When I think about my kids’ favorite cereal from Cascadian Farms, which has 8g of sugar per serving, I am OK with this number. Plus, these are more filling. In the summer I might experiment more with reducing the sugar, but the frozen blueberries aren’t sweet so I think a little extra sugar is needed. I hope you enjoy them too. I have been making some other muffins too, so look for that post soon!

Blueberry Muffins

2 thoughts on “Best Blueberry Muffins

  1. Pingback: Do You Know the Muffin Man? | Good Lookin' Home Cookin'

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Mini Muffins (with honey) | Healthy Kitchen, Healthy Budget

Leave a Reply

