Chicken, Tomato and Mozzarella Panini

Tonight we had chicken, tomato and mozzarella paninis. I found the recipe in a cookbook my mom gave me when she gave us a panini maker several years ago titled Panini. Besides the occasional hot dog, tonight was the first time I’ve used our panini maker to cook the protein and then cook the sandwich. I love our panini maker and although you can make panini recipes without one (I used to in college), they are a pretty awesome kitchen appliance.

The recipe was very simple, and reading the ingredients and steps in a cookbook made it seem more complicated than it is. Here are the bare bones:

  • Marinade for chicken: lemon juice, lemon zest and olive oil
  • Marinate the chicken for a little bit, but not too long or the acid will break down the chicken (especially thin cutlets)
  • Cook the chicken on the panini maker
  • Leave on the counter and go pick up kids
  • After you’re home, assemble the sandwiches (recipe calls for focaccia but I couldn’t find any! So, I used ciabatta rolls): bread, chicken, tomato slice and mozzarella cheese)
  • I saved some unused marinade to baste on top of the rolls, but I couldn’t taste the flavors and it made my hands messy, so I will skip that next time.
  • Some kind of sauce for the bread would be nice

Easy peasy! You could even grill the chicken ahead of time and freeze, then make the sandwiches for an extra fast weeknight meal.

chicken on the panini maker

chicken, tomato and mozzarella panini

One thought on “Chicken, Tomato and Mozzarella Panini

  1. Pingback: Chicken with Cilantro Pesto Panini | Good Lookin' Home Cookin'

Leave a Reply

