A Tale of Two Dinners: Pork Tacos and Nachos

If you read my post on our meal plan for the week, you would know I planned on cooking pork in the slow cooker for one dinner, then using leftover pork for nachos another night. I’m happy to say, both dinners were a success, and very economical considering I bought the boneless Boston pork butt on sale for $3.39/lb (it was probably around $7 total).

The pork carnitas recipe was very easy, and I changed a few things. I set up the pork in the slow cooker sometime in the morning, with the tot by my side. Around 4:00pm I opened the lid (not before then!) and pulled out the pork, which started to fall apart as soon as the tongs touched it. I did my best to pull off extra fat; since it was an inexpensive cut of meat, I expected there to be lots of fat. The original recipe says to add the pork back into the sauce, but I didn’t because other times I have done that the meat was very mushy. I put the shredded pork in a pan and broiled it for about 5 minutes.

I made two dinners with the shredded pork.

Dinner #1 – Pork tacos. I made a quick guac with an avocado, lime, cilantro and salt; no red onion in the fridge, so I threw in some chives that are somehow still growing in our backyard. The chives weren’t as good as red onion, but the guac and pork still tasted good on a Mission tortilla (no, I don’t make my own tortillas). Delish!

Pork carnitas

Dinner #2 – Pork nachos. I laid a base of tortilla chips and topped with pieces of pork, but it would have been better if I had warmed up the pork in a skillet (or microwave) first because it was a little hard to pull apart the cold pork. I sprinkled a mix of shredded colby, monterrey jack and pepper jack cheese and broiled for about 5 minutes. Then, I topped with Muir Glen salsa. I didn’t take a picture because the dinner wasn’t particularly photogenic, but it fed us all! And there is even a little bit of pork for the baby’s lunch tomorrow. Win!

Leave a Reply

