1/14 – 1/22

It might seem like I’ve been slacking lately, but actually I have been meal planning and shopping as usual. Last week I didn’t make anything particularly exciting, and my evenings have been full of Downton Abbey Seasons 1 and 2 so I didn’t take time to blog. But, here I am again.

This week Publix has pork chops, and pork roast on sale. In addition to shopping at Publix, occasionally I stop by the organic grocery store in downtown Pensacola, Everman’s, to pick up some fruit. While I was there a few days ago I noticed ground beef from White Oak Pastures was on sale for $6.99/lb. That’s good for grass fed beef, bonus that it’s already ground. I have bought White Oaks before, but I didn’t know that you can buy meat in bulk from their website. I might investigate this because I am (once again) interested in buying directly from a farmer. Getting to the farmer’s market on Saturdays can be tough, so this may be a good option.

Last weekend I experimented with my waffle maker and cooked hash browns. They turned out ok, but it took a lot of effort and draining the potatoes on a (clean) dish towel stained my towel. Dern! Despite my lukewarm feelings, everyone ate them and I only managed to get a picture of the lone hash brown. I won’t give up, I have some other recipes to try.DSC_0080 Finally, this week I remembered something from my catering days: plating salads ahead of time, minus the salad dressing, to save time come serving time. The past two days I have taken 30 seconds out of my dinner prep time to plate two salads so they are ready to go for dinner. It’s so easy, it’s silly, but this small step means I am far more likely to eat salad at dinner.

DSC_0099


Th: Picadillo. This is a beef dish that I make from a book my wonderful sister-in-law gave me, Memories of a Cuban Kitchen. There are lots of interpretations of this dish online. I use red wine and worchestershire in mine, no olives (!!), raisins or potatoes. Sorry if I’m making any Cubans wince.

F: Pork carnitas in the slow cooker. New recipe!

S: Sirloin steaks on the grill (steak was frozen a few weeks ago)

Sun: Nachos using leftover pork

M: Fresh, cooked pasta with my balsamic tomato mix

T: meatballs. I will probably mix these up the night before and cook the day of. I’ll try to document how I make them.

W: Parmesan baked pork chops. Another new recipe. Not sure how or when I will make these. I may have to cook ahead of time and keep on the hot tray while I pick up the kids.

Th: leftovers, hopefully…

Leave a Reply

