Homemade Gifts

I know this is a cooking/meal planning blog, but here’s a post about some baking and gift giving I’ve been doing.

I think I started thinking about Christmas gifts for our teachers back in November. This year we have eight teachers (four for each kiddo), and other people at school I wanted to thank. As much as I wanted to give everyone gifts, I was a little worried about the cost. So, I started looking at crafty blogs and getting ideas.

I decided to make bath salts and put them in a decorative mason jar. I bought epsom salts from my trusty Publix and used a recipe of 3 cups epsom salt, 1 cup baking soda, and a few drops of the essential oil blend “Stress Away” from Young Living. I did some experimenting with fizzy bath salts, but the fizz seemed to leave the salts after a day or two. The recipe I used gave me enough to fill eight, 4-oz mason jars. I still have an extra bag of epsom so I may experiment with a recipe from Martha Stewart that has coarse salt added. http://www.marthastewart.com/270270/homemade-bath-salts. I printed out the tags from a website, http://www.plumadorable.com/pamper-yourself-gift-jars-free-printable-tags/.

I also made peppermint fudge thanks to the Pioneer Woman. Chocolate and sweetened condensed milk. I’m not exactly sure what condensed milk is, but I do know this fudge was incredibly easy to make (I had a make-shift double boiler with a stock pot and aluminum bowl), and it’s really yummy! I used the EZ foil 8×8 pans lined with aluminum foil. I’ll let you see pretty pictures of fudge making on her site. Peppermint Fudge.

DSC_0033

DSC_0032

Leave a Reply

